Chapter Officers

The Great Plains Chapter of the American Society of Safety Professionals was chartered in 1958. Our purpose is to promote the advancement of the safety profession and safety professionals throughout our geographical area: the State of Nebraska; these counties in Iowa: Plymouth, Cherokee, Woodbury, Ida, Monona, Crawford, Harrison, Shelby, Pottawattamie, Cass, Mills, Montgomery, Fremont, and Page.

We understand networking, learning, and staying on top of the latest changes in our field is very important. If you are a current member, we appreciate your support. If you are not active, we welcome you to get involved. We would also like to extend an opportunity for those who are not members to join!

Use the Contact Us page to email the chapter leadership team.

  • President
    Kelvin Thurman, CSP, MBA, APSS #01157
    Safety Compliance Coordinator
    Applied Underwriters
  • Vice President
    Samantha O'Kelley
    Director of Safety
    State Steel
  • Treasurer
    Brenda Schroeder, CSP
    Safety Manager
    CLAAS Omaha Inc.
  • Secretary
    Ed Armendariz, CSP, CHST, STS
    Central Region SH&E Manager
  • Delegate
    Beth Fye, CSP, SPHR
    Director of Risk Management
    Omaha Steaks
  • Alternate Delegate
    Joe Scott, MS, CSP
    Safety & Emergency Preparedness Manager
    Regional West Health Services
  • Communications Chair (Newsletter & Website)
    John Hauser
  • Advisory Group Member
    Todd Grumley
    EHS Specialist
  • Government Affairs Chair
    Jason Hall, CSP
    Heartland Safety and Health
  • Awards & Honors
  • Membership Chair
    Doris Burns, PhD, CSP, EurOSHM
  • Program Chair
    Jake Mahin, GSP
    Safety & Loss Control Consultant
    UNICO Group
  • Nominations Elections Chair
    Todd Grumley
    EHS Specialist
  • Foundation Liaison
    Cody Coonrod
    Site Safety Manager
    The Waldinger Corporation
  • Faculty Advisor
    Jeffrey Allen, Ph.D.